June

Brain Dump

Hi loves,

Today’s blog post is going to be all over the place. I’ve had a busy week and I didn’t plan anything out so let’s just chat about whatever comes to mind.

Let’s start with balance. This is something I struggle with sometimes. I’m busy with a full-time job, I’m currently going back to school for additional certifications to further my career, and I keep up a pretty full social life too. In additional to that I have to find time for household chores/duties as well as my favorite pastime:

READING

Recently, I established a nighttime routine where I try to read for at least thirty minutes every night before bed. I try to re-read my favorite books so I’m not up for the entire night because of cliff-hangers or because its simply a really great book.

So far, this is working out well, but I know July’s Camp Nanowrimo is quickly approaching and I don’t want a repeat of the stress that accompanied April’s Camp. Towards the end of April I just about lost my mind and that was when I had less responsibilities than I do now. Not to mention, I’m also taking a 5 day trip out-of-state with my family in July.

So, in typically Type A fashion, I sat down this weekend and worked out a schedule. Now, I know schedules aren’t for everyone, but they’re really good at helping me get work done and get organized. So I sat down, drew out a calendar, wrote down all my upcoming and scheduled appointments and trips for this month, and wrote down my work schedule. Then, I sprinkled in writing times in the mornings and in the evenings so I wouldn’t get stuck in a rut.

(Plus, I’m excited because I’m starting a bullet journal this July.  I’ve been watching videos on YouTube and reading a ton of blog posts about bullet journaling, but that’s another story. Drop a comment down below if you want an upcoming blog post to showcase my bullet journal.)

I also dropped my word count goal. Originally I wanted to have a goal of 25,000 words for both April and July, but with everything I have planned next month, a goal of 25,000 words isn’t feasible. I will aim for 20,000 words instead. If I get more than that then I’ll buy myself a cupcake…or a cookie.

Yeah definitely a cookie from Panera Bread. The Kitchen Sink one sounds disgusting, but is AH-MAZ-ING!!!

I’m also working on a new story for Camp this July. I will continue to work on Quarter-Life Crisis, but another plot bunny has been jumping around in my head for quite a while now. My new story deals with mental illness; Schizophrenia to be exact. It’s going to be a YA novel and the MC’s name is Diana. (Her name was going to be something else, but I just watched Wonder Woman and I feel like Wonder Woman’s personality is something my MC strives to be but never actually attains.)

This weekend, I finally finished plotting the novel using the 27 Chapter System. I’ve also fully fleshed out my MC’s personality. Now I’m working on the supporting characters, the book description, and a temporary cover to display on my profile for Camp. In my blog post next weekend I’ll reveal the temporary cover and the book description.

I’m excited to start this new WIP. Writing about a character with mental illness is definitely going to be a challenge for me, but I’ve already decided that before this book goes to an editor, I’m going to have someone that’s an expert in dealing with mental illness read it to make sure I’m delicately handling the topic.

Is anyone else participating in Camp Nanowrimo next month? Leave a comment down below and describe your goals for Camp.

Until next time,

-Jade

 

 

Leave a Reply

